2015 Public Forum Camps are Full

by admin.

We are no longer accepting applications to the 2015 UTNIF Public Forum camp. We’ve reached capacity. Students wishing to be placed on a waiting list should contract J.V. Reed by email at jvreed@austin.utexas.edu We will place students on a waiting list at no charge on a first come, first served basis.

Congratulations UTNIF alums on an outstanding TFA State

by admin.

Congratulations on an excellent performance among UTNIF alums at TFA State! Below is a list of teams clearing at TFA 15 featuring one or both partners who attended UTNIF in 2014:


2. Katy Taylor XX (Zaki Alattar & Albert Li)
4. Westwood XX (Sam Bhagwandin & Varun Reddy)
6. Kinkaid BY (Rikki Bleiweiss & Sita Yerramsetti)
9. Kinkaid Rr (Reece Rosenthal & arjun reddy)
14. Dulles SF (Priya Suri & Riley Franklin)
15. Westwood LP (Jacob Lundquist & Angela Park)
17. Katy Taylor IK (Subbu Iyer & Ajith Kumar)
19. Hendrickson WH (Elan Wilson & Emma Ha)
25. Katy Taylor BK (Spencer Brents & Joel Kim)
30. Lindale RT (Alec Ramsey & Jonas Thrasher-Evers)


Special congratulations to Westwood and Katy Taylor for their semifinals appearances. Congratulations also to the Estradas from SFA well on winning the thing. Although they didn’t attend UTNIF last summer, they have in the past, and we love them anyway. Kudos all around!

All UTNIF Divisions Open for Enrollment

by admin.

All camp divisions (Policy, Lincoln Douglas, Public Forum and Individual Events) are accepting applications. We aren’t full yet, although our space will be limited. The earlier you apply the more assured you will be of successfully reserving the space for your attendance.

Congratulations to UTNIF Alums at UIL State!

by admin.

UTNIF alums led the pack in Lincoln Douglas and Policy Debate at the 2014 UIL State Tournament.

Congratulations to the following:

Abigail Sullivan, 2A CX Debate Champion
Meredith McDonald and Madalyn Mikkelson, 3A CX Debate Champions
Aswin Varma, 5A CX Debate State Champion
Mikaila Rushing, 1A LD Debate State Champion
Elizabeth Warren, 2A LD Debate State Runner Up
Sydney Walter, 2A LD Debate 3rd Place
Geoffrey Huley and Ian Karamali, 4A CX Debate 3rd Place
Joseph Estrada, 5A CX Debate 3rd Place

Another Superb Addition to UTNIF CX Staff

by admin.

We are very happy to announce that Michael Antonucci will be joining UTNIF this summer.  Mr. Antonucci coaches debate at Harvard University.


Michael coached the 2014 TOC champion from Centennial High School in Maryland.  He also coached the 2014 NDT semifinalist and Copeland runner-up from Harvard University.


As a Georgetown coach, Mr. Antonucci coached the 2012 NDT championship team.  He has coached teams to wins or the late elimination rounds of every high school and college major tournament.


Notably, Michael has coached a wide variety of students with a diverse range of argument interests, including traditional policy debate, philosophical argument, and social justice issues.

UTNIF Alums win Oklahoma State Tournament in Policy Debate

by admin.

Congratulations to UTNIF Alums Uday Kohli and Matthew Cave from Edmond North High School on their Oklahoma State Championship in Class 6A Policy debate.

Congratulations are also in order for the Jenks team of D’Onofrio/Reinking, also UTNIF alums, for placing 3rd!


UT Austin Debate Team Invited to Lafayette Debates in D.C.

by admin.

Austin, TX – The University of Texas debate team has been invited to participate in the prestigious Lafayette Debates, public debates April 11-13 in Washington, D.C., hosted by the French Embassy in partnership with the Institute for European, Russian and Eurasian Studies of the George Washington University.


Natural Science senior Risha Bhattacharjee (Coppell, TX) and CMS sophomore Haley Tuchman (Chicago, IL), were selected to represent the University because of their outstanding performance in the Lafayette On-line Debates. “Several UT students participated in the debate and reached the elimination rounds, but Risha and Haley had the best overall performance,” said Joel Rollins, director of debating and senior lecturer in UT’s communication studies department.


“The Lafayette debates are a unique experience that allows undergraduate students to intellectually engage with renowned international relations scholars, political figures from around the world, and policy-makers and business professionals in the global community.  There are few opportunities quite like it,” Rollins said.


Teams that advance to the final four of the debates will be invited to France to continue their exploration of the tournament topic firsthand in discussions with French government officials, diplomats, scholars and business people. This prize includes round-trip airfare, lodging and expenses while in France. These debates are intended to promote dialogue and relations between the United States and France by engaging future leaders on timely topics of mutual interest.


The topic selected for the 2013-14 Lafayette Debates addresses an issue of critical importance to both the United States and France, specifically, that nation states “should maintain, adopt and implement policies and measures that they deem appropriate for the protection and promotion of the diversity of cultural expressions on their territory.”


In exploration of this topic, students will research and debate the goals and objectives of the seminal international agreement on cultural preservation, the UNESCO Convention on the Protection and Promotion of the Diversity of Cultural Expressions.


“We are honored that UT students have the opportunity to promote UT’s on-going mission of global engagement,” Rollins said.


The University of Texas has a long history of debating at the national level, qualifying  for the National Debate Tournament for the past 30 years.  A “rivalry” debate between UT and Southern California has been set for the second round of the competition.


For more information, please contact Dr. Joel Rollins at jd.rollins@austin.utexas.edu.

University of California, Berkeley
Claremont McKenna College
Cornell University
Ecole de Guerre Economique
Emory University
Georgetown University
George Washington University
George Mason University
University of Georgia

Gonzaga University

Hampden-Sydney College
Harvard University
University of Houston
James Madison University
Loyola Marymount University
University of Mary Washington
New York University
Pennsylvania State University
University of Pittsburgh
University of South Florida
University of Southern California
Stanford University
University of Texas
U.S. Military Academy
U.S. Naval Academy
Wake Forest University
Washington University, St Louis
Yale University